Cinco de Margarita

In leau of Cinco de Mayo (which I just found out is not Mexico’s independence day, but rather a celebration of their freedom), I made a few margarita’s for myself. If you don’t have a Magic Bullet, I highly recommend it. We haven’t had it that long, so I don’t know the shelf life of it just yet, but it works better than any blender I’ve used (other than the über expensive Starbuck’s brand ones). It is also great for breakfast smoothies and humus. The best part of the bullet is it’s perfect for one person and when you are done chopping and grinding, you just spin the top off and have a glass to drink out of.

image

My recipe stemmed from left over On the Border regular lite margarita mix, sans the alcohol. The golden tequila makes my stomach churn just at the initial waft of _ taste, so I bought a cheaper clear tequila and put a shot worth in.I added previously frozen fresh strawberries and raspberries for an added frozen tundra slushy effect. Then about 1/3 of the way up of the margarita mix and some fresh lime juice from those cute little gold ball sized key limes. To finish it off I added ice to the top and blended until smooth. I cut the other half of the key lime into a wedge and searched everywhere for a straw, but with no luck drank my sweet, tangy, slightly pungent creation from the glass. And when my head twinged with a brain freeze, I switched to sipping it from the spoon. All it needed was some guac and friends for the ultimate Cinco de Mayo celebration.

image

Leave a comment

Filed under Drinks, Food

Leave a Reply

