Blackened Hummus

image

A new mother took to making her own baby food, and while I watched her feed her 4-month old blended avocados, all I could think was, “she should really try a food processor.”

So that night I made a fresh batch of black beans from the bag, according to the overnight soak directions and minus the added onions and peppers for taste. (Which really improve the flavor, but I didn’t have any on hand). I picked up a few ingredients from the store the next day after work and got to making the whole bag of black beans into hummus. I sprinkled some olive oil over a few shallots and some garlic still in their shell and tossed them into the broiler. They slip right out of the outer shell when they are done and have a toasted sweetness about them.

I threw about two cups of black beans into the food processor, sprinkled maybe 4-6 tablespoons of olive oil in, a tablespoon or two of fresh lemon juice, 6 garlic cloves, a sprinkling of cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper, pepper, and a dash of salt and ground it all together for around 5 minutes until I had the right smooth thick consistency of hummus.

This combo needed something still because the black beans were cooked plain (if you use canned black beans it works fine with just them), so I drummed up some regular chickpeas/garbanzo bean hummus (same ingredients just with chickpeas).  Then I mixed the two batches together. This did the trick. Enough salty, garlicy, mediterranean goodness.

Leave a comment

Filed under Appetizers, Food, Snacks

Leave a Reply

