Soft Pretzels

If you have a bread maker, this is an easy recipe to snack on for the next week.

In your bread maker, toss together:

1 1/4 cup water 80 degrees Farenheit
1 egg yolk, room temp *save egg white for glaze
1 Tbsp. oil
2 Tbsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. white pepper (or black pepper)
3 1/2 cups bread flour
1 Tbsp. active dry yeast

My instructions suggest program 6 which runs for about an hour and a half, allowing ideal rising time.  If you will be away before you are able to finish the recipe I suggest covering the dough in your largest mixing bowl with plastic wrap and placing it in the fridge. This stuff grows!  I wasn’t thinking the first time I made it and brought the dough with me in my overnight bag on the train to my destination several hours away. The pretzel dough grew and popped open my Tupperware leaving a sticky mess all over the bag and my clothes.  Hilarious disaster.  For alternative recipes you can also mix in pepperoni and parmesan cheese.image

Pull out your risen dough and place on a floured work surface.  In pieces (typically makes 12-16 pretzels), roll the dough out into 16-inch ropes.  I couldn’t get the dough to roll out quite that long without breaking or fusing back to a smaller size.  I did find that if I held both ends of a starter rope and twirled it around like a jump rope in the air it became a desirable size.  Place your rope on a greased baking sheet and form into a pretzel by creating an oval and before you close the top bring both ends across each other and over the bottom. Repeat till the dough is all gone.

imageMix together glaze:

1 egg white
1 Tbsp. water

Take your glaze and brush each pretzel top.  Optional toppings include kosher salt and sesame seeds.  It will also give the pretzel a nice shine.  Bake at 375 degrees Farenheit for 15-20 minutes or until the top becomes golden-yellow in color. image

These taste best warm, fresh out of the oven.  I like to dip mine in parmesan.  Another mistake I made the first time was adding to much sugar.  By doing so and later topping with cinnamon sugar, you could create a breakfast pretzel. 

image

1 Comment

Filed under Appetizers, Food, Snacks

One response to “Soft Pretzels

Leave a Reply

