Shake It

I was on my way to the grocery store to attempt a new mediterranean inspired “dip,” to spread on roasted vegetables when my mom’s friend insisted I come home. Turns out I’m on “mom” duty for the next week, so I attempted to make my mom an easy, healthy meal she didn’t have to chew.  This also makes for a vitamin-rich, energy-boosting breakfast.

To make:

  • 1 low-fat yogurt, flavored
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 packet of Amazing Meal
  • 1/4 cup frozen fruit of choice
  • Swig of Fuze juice drink

In a Magic Bullet or blender (I’m turning into a fan of the bullet. You just flip your blender upside down and automatically have a cup with a handle.) blend together the bananas, yogurt, Amazing Meal, a gulps worth of flavored Fuze to create a drinkable consistency, and your favorite frozen fruit for thickness.

 

We’ve had these Amazing Meal sample packets sitting in the cabinet for quite some time, and what better time to boost your immune system with vitamins than when you are sick?  Unfortunately, our frozen fruit abundance depleted and all I could find were cranberries which seemed like they’d be way to tart for a shake.  They actually helped the overly sweet shake by adding a tart, heartiness. 

 

Pour in a glass and enjoy!  And don’t let the “green juice,”  as my younger cousin calls it, color scare you away.

It was sweet and delicious.  Overly sweet for my taste buds, but my mom loves fruit, in everything, including salsa.  So she was pleasantly surprised by the fruity natural sugars and thickness that still fit through a straw.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Drinks, Food

Leave a Reply

